Holiday Series

The books in the Holiday Series are a year in the life of Kyla, Olivia, Maddie and Sophie and all their friends. Difficult issues are faced this year in all four books. In book one, No Christmas for Olivia, it is time to learn the true meaning of Christmas. In book two, Easter Trip to Florida, the students go on a mission trip where they learn humility and the importance of sharing God's love. In book three, Independence Day, Internet bullying hurts two students. In book four, A Very Thankful Thanksgiving, new zero tolerance rules have an unexpected consequence.

The Holiday Series is a new series written by Mary Ellen Shea Clifford. After the success of the Saginaw Series, with over 1,000 books downloaded, Mary Ellen writes about a new set of friends in Saginaw, Michigan.  In the Holiday Series Olivia, Kyla, Sophie and Maddie are best friends.  Come along and enjoy the drama, mystery, love and budding romances in the newest series.

Holiday Series tackles some pretty difficult subjects.  My hopes are that Mothers and Daughters, Aunts and Nieces, Brothers and Sisters, and even Grandmothers and Granddaughters read these books together and then discuss them.  Internet bullying, abortion, zero tolerance and its consequences, disrespectful and rude behavior as well as forgiveness, cancer, waiting for answers from God in God's time not ours, finding out the world does not revolve around us are some of the issues in the Holiday Series.

It is difficult raising teens in today's world.  It is also difficult to find a way to talk with them without it being stilted and preachy!  Maybe reading these books and then just discussing them on a car ride or sitting at the kitchen table would be a great way to begin these difficult situations. 

I would love to hear from you - let me know how the discussions were.  I'll be praying for you! 

Book One of the Holiday Series - No Christmas for Olivia

Olivia is hurt and angry that her family is going to visit Aunt Fran in Phoenix over Christmas vacation.  It means there will be no trip  to the tree farm to cut a Christmas tree.  Her beloved decorating traditions will go out the window.  And most upsetting, absolutely no snow on Christmas Eve!  Olivia decides to skip Christmas this year.  Her parents can make her go to Arizona but they can't make her enjoy the holidays!  Follow Olivia out to Phoenix as she learns the true meaning of Christmas.

Book Two of the Holiday Series - Easter Break in Florida

Olivia and her sister Kyla are disrespectful to one of their teachers at St. Mary Cathedral High School in Saginaw, Michigan.  Their mom tells them a secret about him.  Can they keep the secret?  They have to go with him to Florida for an Easter break  mission trip.  Will they be able to mend fences and get along? Take a trip to Little Havana as the students and teachers learn together  lessons in  humility and the importance of sharing God's love.

Book Three of the Holiday Series - Independence Day

One of the girls is targeted with online bullying.  Accusations and rumors are running rampant at the end of the school year at St. Mary Cathedral High School in Saginaw, Michigan.  Have Kyla and Matt done what the blog says they did? Some of the students think they may have! The principal turns the investigation over to the Chief of Police.  Who is targeting the students?  Can they put a stop to the bullying?  Will it continue through the summer ruining their vacation or will the guilty party be caught? 

Book Four of the Holiday Series - A Very Thankful Thanksgiving

The school board of St. Mary Cathedral High School in Saginaw, Michigan change their student policy handbook.  One of the girls finds out the hard way that the school board means business about zero tolerance.  New friends, budding romances, a long distance wedding and life changing events lead the families to the discovery of why this Thanksgiving is so special!

No comments:

Post a Comment